About Me

Janne Lindqvist is an assistant professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and a member of WINLAB at Rutgers University.

Janne's research interests are in systems security and privacy, mobile systems, ubiquitous computing, context-aware communication, and human factors in all of the previous.

From fall 2009 until fall 2011, Janne was a Postdoctoral Research Fellow with the Human-Computer Interaction Institute, which is part of the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University. Janne also worked with the CyLab Usable Privacy and Security Lab. Janne's postdoc mentor was Prof. Jason Hong. From fall 2011 until fall 2013, Janne was an assistant research professor of electrical and computer engineering and member of WINLAB at Rutgers University, after which he was appointed as an tenure-track assistant professor starting fall 2013.

Janne received his Doctor of Science (Technology) in Computer Science and Engineering from Helsinki University of Technology, Finland on June 9, 2009. Janne's doctoral dissertation was about Practical Privacy Enhancing Technologies for Mobile Systems. He received his Master of Science (Technology) in Computer Science and Engineering from Helsinki University of Technology, Finland on February 28, 2005. Formally, Janne has not ever received a Bachelor's degree, because before Bologna Process, engineering students in Finnish universities were directly selected to (nominally) 5.5 year Master's degree programs.

Before joining the academia, Janne was a co-founder of wireless networks startup called Radionet, which operated in 24 countries through the network of certified distributors, value added resellers and system integrators. Radionet was sold to Florida-based Airspan Networks Inc. during November 2005. Janne was also a board member of Internet Society's Finland Chapter - ISOC Finland in the years 2006, 2007 and 2008. He was also a co-founder of a non-profit association ("think-thank") for citizen's digital rights called Electronic Frontier Finland (EFFI), and a board member and treasurer of EFFI during years 2001-2004.